March 16, 2007

Districts of Bhutan

Bhutan is divided into 20 Dzongkhag ( District) The Largest Dzongkhag being Tashigang and the Smallest Pemaghatshel, each Dzongkhag is head by Dzongda or dungpa who looks after the administrative and Thrimpon who looks after the Court. Each Dzongkhag is sub divided into gewog where a group of village constitute and is administrative by Gup who is elected by the people.

The List below are the Dzongkhag of Bhutan:

1. Bumthang
2. Chukha
3. Dagana
4. Gasa
5. Haa
6. Luentse
7. Mongar
8. Paro
9. Pemagatshel
10. Punaka
11. Samdrup Jongkhar
12. Samtse
13. Sarpang
14. Thimphu
15. Trashigang
16. Trashiyangse
17. Trongsa
18. Tsirang
19. Wangdue Phodrang
20. Zhemang

Major Cities and towns

- Thimphu - the largest city and capital of Bhutan
- Paro - Site of the international airport
- Punakha - The Old Capital/Winter Residence of Je Khenpho
- Bumthang - the admistrative headquarters of Bumthang District and the place where Buddhism entered Bhutan.
- Phuentsholing - Commercial hub of Bhutan.
- Samdrup Jongkhar - Eastern
- Trashigang - Eastern
- Trongsa

1 comment:

ilker said...

Amazing Bhutan! I'd love to go there one day before I die..

Related Articles by Category

Widget by Hoctro



Email *

Message *